Back to All Events

ASU Symphony Orchestra

Scheherazade and Beyond!

The ASUSO will open its 2017-18 season with a diverse and innovative musical journey. Guest composer Narong Prangcharoen (Thailand) and sitar virtuoso Ustad Shahid Parvez Khan (India) will join the ASUSO, (re)framing Philip Glass’ Offering in celebration of his 80th birthday. The journey will conclude with the 1001 nights of Rimsky-Korsakov’s classic Scheherazade.

Narong Prangcharoen: Phenomenon (2004)
Philip Glass: Offering from “Passages” (1990)
Ustad Shahid Parvez Khan/Jacob Adler: Sitar Concerto in Raag Gavati (2015)
Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherazade

Arizona State University | Gammage Auditorium

Later Event: October 6
ASU Chamber Orchestra